Jenntertainment's Weblog

Adventures in children's theatre.

Books September 2, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — jenntertainment @ 8:51 pm
Tags: , , ,

Hello, my name is Jenn and I am a bookaholic.

Whew, am I glad to get that off my chest. Reading is my thing, my hobby, my pastime, my joy, my vacation I get to take every day. Which is why I’m a little miffed at this whole ‘work’ thing interfering with my reading time. Recently, I’ve had some time off from work and since my field trip program hasn’t started yet, I have most of my mornings free, leaving me lots of delicious reading time. But as time goes by, my windows of literary opportunity get smaller and smaller, usually leaving me dangling mid-sentence or forcing me to leave my people in some desperate situation, which only my page-turning can solve. People that don’t love books don’t understand; you have to finish the chapter OR ELSE. You can’t just leave someone hanging off the edge of a cliff by one finger for an entire day while you go around dancing and singing. It just isn’t right.

Currently, I am working through several books. My habit of reading multiple books at one time used to drive my mom crazy – in fact it still might, the subject hasn’t come up recently – but I can’t help myself. To me, books are like choosing an outfit to wear or a wine to drink; it has to match my mood. At all times I need a fluffy fiction or comedy, historical fiction, thriller/mystery and something for work, like a book on theatre or dance. This week’s selection includes Undomestic Goddess, A Breath of Snow & Ashes, Interview with a Vampire and Theatre for Community Conflict & Dialogue, all stellar choices to fit any whim. Raining and thundering outside? Vampires, please. Bubble bath time? Chic lit, please. Problems at work? Voganova, please. If only everything in life was as easy to suit. 🙂

 

4 Responses to “Books”

  1. Diane Says:

    Hmm – we must be related or something

  2. Yeah, we must be. 🙂
    Yesterday someone brought me Breaking Dawn from that teenybopper vampire series. I never thought that I would be chosing between two vampire series in one day. Why are vampires so popular all of a sudden?

  3. April Says:

    One of the great joys of my life is knowing you have the same passion for reading that I do! As you know I recently finished “The Lady Elizabeth” by Allison Weir. I am currently reading “Kratzners Train” ( about a little known man who did the same thing Schindler did, but was villified for it) and “Labyrinth” by Kate Mosse.

  4. Cindi Says:

    My name is Cindi and I am a vampire-aholic. I loved Breaking Dawn!
    If you liked Twilight (the first book), you should check out http://www.stepheniemeyer.com and read the first 264 pages of Midnight Sun posted on the site. This is the draft that was stolen and distributed without permission. The author might not ever finish it, she is so upset about this violation. Anyway, it is amazing and is Twlight written from the vampire, Edward’s perspective. There is nothin’ like a teenage vampire’s angst when he can’t decide whether to love or drink his girlfriend.


Leave a Reply

