Jenntertainment's Weblog

Adventures in children's theatre.

What’s in a Name? August 11, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — jenntertainment @ 6:44 am
Tags: , ,

Tonight I asked Vann if he had ever looked up the meanings of all of his names and put them together to see if they made some sort of mad-lib-type sentence. Since he hadn’t, I sat down with my old pal, Google, and got to work. This is what we came up with:

Supplanter of War-Like Beech Trees on a Large Round Fort with a Little Blessed One who is Revered. Twice a day. Times three.

Then I decided to look up my name. BIG MISTAKE.

Enchantress in a Sea of Bitterness.

Seriously, people. I am no longer enchanted with this meaning-of-names business. I was not afloat in a sea of bitterness until I read this statement. I demand a recall.

 

5 Responses to “What’s in a Name?”

  1. Noah Says:

    I’m either “Resting Wolf Cub” or “Peaceful Clergyman”. I don’t know how to react to that.

  2. April Says:

    Maybe you are the “Little Blessed One who is revered”!
    I’m sure you can find another translation. It seems to me Marie is a derivative of Mary – which means Blessed. (I think)
    So you are twice Blessed.

  3. I thought the same thing, but it turns out that Mary also means “bitter” in Hebrew. Apparently adding an ‘i-e’ turns it into ‘sea of.’ Terribly, terribly sad. How could you do this to me?
    🙂

  4. Diane Says:

    Hmm – I am Celestial Hunter/Sea of Bitterness – whatever

  5. Cindi Says:

    Vann’s name has been a source of War-like beech trees, like when we went to the DMV for his driver’s license. It wouldn’t fit! They had never had a legal name not fit on a driver’s license before.
    And what parent in their right mind would give a child all of those names and then not call him by ONE of them?? Bless his little revered heart!


Leave a Reply

