Jenntertainment's Weblog

Adventures in children's theatre.

One Minute Update June 24, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — jenntertainment @ 2:07 am
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

What an interesting couple of days…er…weeks! The short recap is that the dance recital went very well and all were very pleased, Peter Pan flew without a hitch and now we are on to summer camps! I am currently working on 101 Dalmations  with 45 2nd-8th graders and having a blast. I’m pleased to say that this is an extremely well behaved group, especially for first-timers. There were only about 10 students that I had worked with previously and they are being such a great help to the newcomers that they’re practically doing the teaching for us. Its really great to see the older students step up to the plate and help the wee ones learn their stagecraft. They not only showed them the difference between upstage and downstage, but they explained the history behind it as well! I guess we’re doing something right…

Last Thursday we had a huge thunderstorm with two tornadoes that actually touched down in sandfly. As a result, we had to pool all of the students from both camps into the blackbox for safety…around 94 kids in all. After sitting in that petrie dish of kid-germs for two hours, I was quite expectedly sick the next day and ended up staying home from work. Unfortunately, the power in our neighborhood was out until after nightfall on Friday, so it wasn’t a very entertaining sick day. Ah, well. I did get a lot of reading done! The Phantom Tollbooth is now among my favorite books.

We got a chance to see The Miracle Worker at Savannah Christian and The Beat Goes On at Savannah Theatre this weekend, which was a rare treat. I feel like I spend so much time making theatre that I don’t usually get a chance to see much of it. There was an impromptu poker gathering at our place last night, in which Vann took first place. Woohoo! We thoroughly enjoyed the weekend and the time we got to share with friends. Vann is currently out of town at a nerd confere- oops – I mean a technology conference until Wednesday. I shall miss him. 😦 That’s all for now!

 

One Response to “One Minute Update”

  1. Leia Says:

    The Phantom Tollbooth! Yes! I keep wanting it to get made into an awesome movie. I just re-read “A Wrinkle in Time,” which was slighly creepier than I remembered it.


Leave a Reply

