Jenntertainment's Weblog

Adventures in children's theatre.

Television! April 8, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — jenntertainment @ 7:46 am

At last! The day has finally come where sitcom lovers everywhere may pour a glass of wine, sit back on the couch and enjoy NOT-reality tv once again! This was the first year that I had actually become involved with current sitcom plot lines like The Office and Samantha Who?  Most years I’ve just had to plug my fingers in my ears while people discussed the hot new series because I didn’t have a schedule consistent enough to keep up with a weekly show. Guaranteed, the one episode that I would miss would be the one to change everything…’the one where they broke up’ or ‘the one where they got back together’ or ‘the one where they shot J.R.’ Always. When boxed DVD rentals came out, I was in heaven only four months behind everyone else.

This was my year. Mondays and Wednesdays I could count on being home by a civilized 9pm, and as for the rest? Tivo. Same-Night Re-Runs. Full Online Episodes. This year there was zero chance of me being stuck at episode four while everyone else was enjoying the season’s two-hour grand finale. When the writer’s strike occurred, I was suddenly paralyzed! Last year it would have thrilled me to have a few months where I could catch up on my pop-culture without anything new and exciting coming along to throw me even further into un-trendiness. But now its all over and I can resume my love affair with prime time, completely free of the fear that I might get suckered into watching some bogus faux-celebrity reality show instead of reading a good book or doing laundry like I’m supposed to. No, my friends, now I can enjoy my glass of wine and my shows about idiot bosses and amnesiac fashionistas to my heart’s content. At least, for two days a week, anyway. 🙂

 

2 Responses to “Television!”

  1. Diane Says:

    Amen Sister! I mean cousin…er, whatever. I am with you on this one!

  2. Josie Says:

    Jenn, update more! I miss reading your awesome blog!


Leave a Reply

