Jenntertainment's Weblog

Adventures in children's theatre.

Bad Things Turning Into Good Things March 15, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — jenntertainment @ 9:16 pm

Bad Thing 1) Apparently, while I was out of town, we lost power at the house at precisely 9pm on Wednesday, exactly when my DVR was supposed to be recording the season finale of Project Runway!

Good Thing 1) They re-ran the show this past Wednesday and it recorded automatically! I finally got to see the last episode, and yes, it was everything that I hoped it would be. My guy won!

Bad Thing 2) I had to send off one piece of mail yesterday – just one – but since we rarely send mail, our stamps were the outdated 38-cent ones instead of the current 41-cents. So I went to the post office and, most inconveniently, they have removed the single stamp vending machines. Now the only way that you can purchase one stamp is to stand in line…which is currently snaking through the lobby, almost to the entrance.

Good Thing 2) While I was waiting in this never-ending line for my one 41-cent stamp, an enormous man in a postal worker uniform came over and asked me to step out of line. More than a little irked and confused, I walked out of my place and followed him into the hallway where he presented me with one 41-cent stamp. “I just didn’t want you to have to wait all that time for one little stamp,” he said. “Take this one.” I must have asked him if he was serious about five or six times before he stuck the stamp on my envelope himself, saying “now put it in the box and have a nice day!” So now I have to pay it forward.

Bad Thing 3) I had no water left at the end of my dance classes this morning and all of the ones at the theatre were too cold. (As a rule, dancers or other athletes shouldn’t drink really cold beverages after their activity. The temperature of the drink gives you a false sense of being more hydrated, when all you really are is less hot.)

Good Thing 3) So I’m pulling out of the parking lot, wondering if I should duck into CVS or something to get a bottle for the drive home, when I see a sign at the corner of Victory & Skidaway that says FREE WATER, NO JOKE. No joke, someone in a Vineyard Church t-shirt walked up to my car window and offered me a free bottle of water and a ‘God bless.’ Awesome!

 So that’s three sour turned sweet things that have happened to me in the past three days. With the crazy stress that I’ve had with work and finances this past week, I’m doing my best to focus on the positive. Isn’t it amazing how we allow tiny inconveniences – like running out of toilet paper or pulling into the gas station as the attendant is changing the price from $3.19 to $3.25  – to completely ruin our day? Why not spend more time enjoying the small stuff  – like how my azaleas bloomed when I thought they wouldn’t or coming home to find all of the laundry already finished and folded. Work is hard. Life is hard. But why make it harder by being in a bad mood? 

No, this is not a novel idea. No, I am not the first person to say these things. I just needed a little affirmation for myself to ‘keep on the sunny side’ and thought that I maybe I could encourage some others to do the same. Have a great day! 🙂

 

4 Responses to “Bad Things Turning Into Good Things”

  1. April Says:

    It has been an odd week, hasn’t it!? Unfortunately, I find that keeping on the sunny side is a lesson I must constantly re-learn, but I will persevere!

  2. Suzanne Says:

    It’s a reminder we all need from time to time…especially when life seems so determined to pass out the little troubles.

    I was talking to someone on the phone the other day when they too were getting handed free water on the street side…hmmm. go figure

    Can’t wait to hear more about the convention.

  3. Cindi Says:

    You are so amazing to me. I feel so blessed to have you for a daughter (in law). Your insight on life is inspiring and funny and real. I really think you should write a book. It would be #1 on the NY Time best seller list. I’m serious.
    LOVE YOU, little missy.

  4. Diane Says:

    I TOLD you the azaleas would bloom!!


Leave a Reply

