Jenntertainment's Weblog

Adventures in children's theatre.

New Car!!! February 3, 2008

Filed under: Jenn-eral — jenntertainment @ 3:24 am

TA-DA!

Holy cow! Vann got me a new car!

My car was a piece of crap. Honestly. Anyone who ever had the privilege of viewing it, or better yet, being a passenger in it can tell you that. The front passenger door did not open, the driver’s side mirror was being held on with white gaffer’s tape, it had no radio, heating or air, it constantly overheated no matter what we did to it, and for some reason you had to press the powerlock button four times to unlock the two other working doors. My personal favorite? The windshield wipers would simply come on at random and rub the windshield raw. Since September, we have been spending an average of $250 a month on ‘fixing’ it and my $1800 of credit card debt is all due to emergency repairs on that hunk o’ junk. A charming piece of machinery, really.

 Last week, it began to leak antifreeze. So I took it in for it’s monthly visit to the repair shop and instead of my usual $250 with a side of fries, please, it was going to be a whopping $925!! Distressed, I took Vann’s car to work and began calculating how many hours I would have to work my usual streetcorner to come up with the extra cash. After spending 45 minutes on the phone with the manager of Pep Boys, my cell died, leaving me unreachable by mankind since no one ever answers the phone at work. After my classes, I went to my hair appointment at The Riitz (thanks mom!) and when I came out of the salon, Vann was standing in the parking lot with a beautiful ‘Jade Metallic’ 2008 Toyota Yaris and a great salesman named Jeff.

After my initial shock, I kissed my husband, signed away my firstborn child and drove home in my N-E-W car! Many thanks to Vann, Shannon and the fine folk at Savannah Toyota for leading me out of the car ghetto. It is so pretty. I love driving it! I no longer feel embarassed parking in the lots of nice restaurants or driving through rough neighborhoods with kids who have tricked out tricycles worth more than my old Sable. I know you aren’t supposed to be attached to material goods, blah, blah, blah, but I like it. I really, really like it!

Today I hit 200 miles and half a tank of gas. Oh, and it does have that new car smell. 🙂

 

3 Responses to “New Car!!!”

  1. Diane Says:

    How many rides has Grandma had?

  2. Lee Says:

    Congrats on the NEW wheels!!!
    🙂

    I’m sure you look completely adorable in the new ride.

    love to you and the fam.
    Lee


Leave a Reply

